mes pensées éparpillées

scattered thoughts from a european adventure

This blog post is long overdue

I might be far too much of a procrastinator to be a blogger. But I like to remind myself that this blog is also for me to look back on, as I have never been disciplined enough to keep a journal, and I want to remember as much as possible about this adventure I’m on.

So for the first week of my vacation, I went back to Nice, France to visit friends I keep in touch with from when I studied abroad there…and to bask in the sun. Two of the highlights of this trip were visiting the nearby towns of Eze and Gourdon.

I visited Eze with my friend Marie. It is a picturesque town overlooking the Riviera that I’ve been wanting to visit since I lived in France the first time.

IMG_2324

IMG_2342

IMG_2348

I also traveled with my friends Jill and Amy (who graciously hosted me during my visit) to Gourdon, a perched village on top of a mountain that you can only get to by car, foot or bicycle (if you are daring enough to attempt the last two). We also stopped by a historic candy shop on the way there that was absolutely heavenly.

Gourdon is in the background of this photo.

Gourdon is in the background of this photo.

Next, my wanderlust took me to Spain. It was a great feeling to get out of France and experience a culture that was very different from what I’d grown used to in the previous month. I was so lucky that my friend Julia lives right next to Plaza del Sol, one of the busiest squares in Madrid.  One of the great things about the city center of Madrid is that everything is in walking distance, so I could easily get to Buen Retiro Park, the Prado museum, Gran Via (the street with all the shopping), and the Royal Palace of Madrid on foot. Two of my favorite places were Mercado San Miguel – an indoor market with many options of traditional Spanish food and drink – and Lavapiés – the most international quarter of the city where many immigrants live ~ you can find some cheap, tasty Indian food there! In general, I ate a lot of good food in Spain. And got used to the wild meal times: lunch around 2pm, dinner around 10pm. I definitely ate my fair share of tasty traditional Spanish tapas.

Breakfast the Spanish way - churros and chocolate.

Breakfast the Spanish way – churros and chocolate.

IMG_2532

Touring the Royal Palace of Madrid with Julia.

I also made a side trip to visit my friend Andrew in the port city of Valencia, Spain’s third largest city. I believe that you begin to really experience a country’s culture once you’re outside of the capital, which I got to do by visiting Valencia. One of my favorite sites was the Mercado Central, which is considered one of the oldest European markets still running today. Since Valencia is on the coast, of course there was a bunch of fresh seafood, as well as the jamón (dry-cured ham) that Spaniards never stop eating. I also got to climb the cathedral in Valencia, which had a beautiful view of the city. And last but not least, I went to the beach because I will never stop being fascinated by the ocean.

Plaza de Toros, Valencia's bullfighting stadium.

Plaza de Toros, Valencia’s bullfighting stadium.

This work of art redefines the word sandcastle.

This work of art redefines the word sandcastle.

After returning to Clermont Ferrand on the first Monday of November, I took another trip the following weekend to Le-Puy-en-Velay with some of my new friends Lenie & Lizzie, who are also teaching assistants. Le Puy is a town located in the region of Auvergne, where I currently live. We were hosted by another teaching assistant who we met at our orientation at the beginning of October. We got really lucky with the weather that weekend, as it reached the low 70’s! We got to see the cute, small town Saturday market, and all the vendors were very friendly. We also got to see the annual hot air balloon festival just outside the city…though unfortunately we didn’t get to ride in any hot air balloons because the cost was 225 euros per person! One thing I didn’t take the time to do when I lived in Nice was travel to the surrounding towns and cities in the Cote d’Azur region, which was a regret of mine. That is something that I am committed to doing during my 7ish months living in Clermont-Ferrand: exploring the surrounding region and nearby towns.

IMG_2609

Church on a rock. A picturesque rock.

Church on a rock. A picturesque rock.

And just one more photo that was one of the highlights of the past week for me in my adventures on public transportation:

IMG_2629

Sorry for the delay in blogging…hope it was worth the wait!

Bisous,
Alia

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “This blog post is long overdue

  1. Good stuff! Great picts! Nothing like traveling.

  2. Thank you! I’m beyond blessed to have the opportunity to travel🙂

  3. Jean S. Osman on said:

    What joy to get to see some of the things you are getting to see. Love your sharing!!!!!!!!!! Love you, too. Gramma

Leave a Reply

