mes pensées éparpillées

scattered thoughts from a european adventure

I experienced Barcelona and didn’t get pickpocketed :)

Hey everyone,

I made it to the Czech Republic! I decided not to take the time to blog in Barcelona because I was on a retreat making new friends and I wanted to spend as much time with them as I could.  Here is the group. I’m so glad I got to know each of them🙂

Image

We spent our nights in dorm rooms attached to a seminary outside of Barcelona. I had the bad fortune of being directed into a taxi from the airport in which the driver did not have a GPS (this is abnormal, apparently).  I showed the driver the address and he acted like, are you sure you want to go there, this isn’t in Barcelona! He only was speaking Spanish. Luckily I had the phone number of the building and the driver had a cellphone so he got the directions, because no one in the city knew where this little street was.  I had a moment of sheer panic because if the driver wouldn’t have found the place I would be clueless about what to do next.  But I made it there and I was the 2nd person to arrive!

A great part of the retreat was sharing stories and similar experiences with each other and establishing friends that aren’t 7 time zones away.  It was incredible how friendly everyone was right away even though most of us struggled to get to the meeting place.  We spent a whole day in the city in pairs, and I definitely would have stayed another day to see a few other attractions, but maybe I’ll get back to Barcelona later this semester since it’s a short trip from Nice.

I spent 9 hours in Barcelona with my new friend Jennifer who speaks Spanish.  Two of the awesome things we did were seeing the Barcelona Cathedral (including a view of the city from the top of the cathedral) and taking a boat along Port Vell, seeing the ships and the city from the sea.  I definitely could have spent a couple more days there but I’m able to come to terms with the fact that I won’t get to see all the cool things in each city that I visit.  Another highlight was the last night when about 8 of us walked to the beach at midnight and stood in the waves. The water was so warm!

ImageImage

Now I’m staying in a rural town in the Czech Republic with some friends that I met when I came on a missions trip 3 years ago.  It will be a relaxing and wonderful time, I’m sure of it🙂 And in just 1 week I will be moving into my new “home” in Nice!

À bientôt,
Alia

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “I experienced Barcelona and didn’t get pickpocketed :)

  1. Jean S. Osman on said:

    Really enjoying your blog!!! Check it every day I can!!! SSSOOO excited for you. Keeping you in my prayers!!!! Love, Gramma

  2. Only 9 hours!? Well then I guess it’s understandable that you didn’t see much of the city. You’ll definitely have to go back when you’re in Nice.

Leave a Reply

